TDM Action Plan

Transportation Demand Management

TDM Plan logoTransportation Demand Management, usually shortened to TDM, is a variety of strategies that can be implemented to incentivize alternative transportation and increase the capacity of our existing transportation system. The more people who drive alone, the more traffic – but it’s hard to travel if there aren’t enough options that fit your needs.

TDM Action Plan

tdm action plan coverNFRMPO staff undertook the TDM Action Plan throughout 2022, convening the TDM Work Group described below. The Plan included goal- and vision-setting efforts; analysis of current needs, programs, and efforts; identification of partner agencies for ongoing partnerships and implementation; and development of a Transportation Management Organization (TMO). The planning effort analyzed different commuting trends, population, and local, regional, and state efforts. Based on these analyses, the Plan recommends the following five goals:

  • Enhance partnerships and collaboration between local communities, businesses, regional and State agencies, and other interested parties
  • Create and enhance regional TDM programming to optimize people throughput
  • Improve data collection to support new and expanded investments and programming
  • Invest in infrastructure and resources to provide additional options and help people make informed transportation choices
  • Communicate the purpose, benefits, and successes of providing mobility options

Planning Council adopted the TDM Action Plan on December 1, 2022.

TDM Work Group

The TDM Work Group met throughout the summer of 2022 and guided the work of the Action Plan. The members included:

  • Will Karspeck, Town of Berthoud and Planning Council Chair
  • Scott James, Weld County Commissioner and Planning Council Vice-Chair
  • Kristin Stephens, Larimer County Commissioner
  • Bill Becker, Loveland Chamber of Commerce
  • Wayne Chuang, Regional Air Quality Council
  • Melina Dempsey, Fort Collins/FCMoves
  • Bianca Fisher, Greeley Downtown Development Authority
  • Aaron Fodge, Colorado State University
  • Jaime Henning / Jason Jones, Greeley Chamber of Commerce
  • Ann Hutchison, Fort Collins Chamber of Commerce
  • Michael Millsapps, Aims Community College
  • Garrett Mumma, Colorado Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
  • Matthew Robenalt, Fort Collins Downtown Development Authority
  • Brad Speer / Jim Mullin, JBS USA
  • Evan Wendlandt, Larimer County Economic Development
  • Rich Werner, Upstate Colorado